WeeklyProgram

Revision 51 as of 2010-02-05 13:57:42

Clear message

X Proprietary Drivers Testing

Setting Up Instructions

  1. Every tested system needs to have a spare partition, because the program involves fresh installations of Ubuntu. If you don't have a spare partition, you can create one following these instructions.

  2. I know some of you have several systems, but our tracker has some limitations that prevent to provide two results for the same account. To avoid creating too much trouble, just select one of your systems and test ALWAYS with that system. [1]

  3. You have to have an account in our tracking system. We are going to use it to generate data (it will be publicly available).
    1. Go to http://xorg.qa.ubuntu.com.

    2. Click on "Log In" and "Create New Account"
    3. Once you have activated your account, go to the "My profile" page.
    4. Under the field "Global hardware description" add the model that you are testing. This is an important field, as we are going to use it to generate our reports. Please, fill it only with the graphics card model that you are testing with that tracker account.
  4. Once you're done with the tracker, add yourself to the list of participants in this page.
  5. Once you have added yourself to the list of testers in this page, ask to be included in the Xorg Proprietary Drivers Testers team in Launchpad and subscribe to the mailing list once you've been approved.

  6. You're all set!

Testing Instructions

Every week, starting on February 15th (see Calendar), we will be starting a new testing cycle. The tests will appear in the tracker and everybody is free to submit their results any time during the week. The following Monday a new cycle will start, and results will be fresh again. If you miss a week, don't worry, you can keep testing the following week.

Most of the tests involves installing an updated ISO of Ubuntu Lucid. Daily ISO images are found at cdimage.ubuntu.com. We advise that you download the images you expect to test ahead of time and use zsync to update them, as this will reduce the turn around time on testing.

For every image at cdimage.ubuntu.com there is a .zsync link that you can use with zsync to sync your images. I.e.:

zsync http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/daily/current/lucid-alternate-i386.iso.zsync

Training

We have set up one fake cycle in the tracker already, so you can play around, ask as many questions as you may have and even submit your first results. As a fake cycle, don't worry about doing it wrong, the data won't be used for the reports. As we have told before, the real testing starts February 15th.

Calendar

Cycle Name

Starts

Ends

FakeCycle

Now

February 14th

Week1

February 15th

February 21st

Week2

February 22nd

February 28th

Week3

March 1st

March 7th

Week4

March 8th

March 14th

Week5

March 15th

March 21st

Week6

March 22nd

March 28th

Week7

March 29th

April 4th

Week8

April 5th

April 11th

Week9

April 12th

April 18th

Week10

April 19th

April 25th

Testers

Username

Name

Launchpad ID

Email

Model

ara

Ara Pulido

apulido

ara@ubuntu.com

nVidia Corporation Quadro NVS 140M

corp186

Chase Douglas

chasedouglas

chase.douglas@canonical.com

nVidia Corporation C79 [GeForce 9400M] (rev b1)

kklimonda

Krzysztof Klimonda

kklimonda

krzysztof.klimonda@gmail.com

nVidia Corporation Quadro NVS 140M

ddewbofh

David Weizades

ddewbofh

ddewbofh@gmail.com

AMD/ATI Radeon 5870

PRab

Paul Rabahy

PRab

prabahy@gmail.com

nVidia Geforce 9600M GT

KeineLust90

Michael Daum

wolfenstein2890

wolfenstein2890@gmail.com

Mobile ATi Radeon 3200HD

Caseyjp

Casey J. Peter

Caseyjp1

caseyjp1@gmail.com

BFG Nvidia GeForce GTX260 OC Maxcore55

Atermoon

Pavel Petev

atermoon

pavelpetev@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce 6800 XT

charlie-tca

Charlie Kravetz

charlie-tca

charlie-tca@ubuntu.com

nVidia Corporation NV44A [GeForce 6200] (rev a1)

SoftwareExplorer

Erik B. Andersen

erik-b-andersen

erik.b.andersen@gmail.com

nVidia Corporation G71 [GeForce 7300 GS] (rev a1)

Zaspire

Maxim Ermilov

Zaspire

ermilov.maxim@gmail.com

integrated Nvidia nForce 750a SLI

georgew

George W

george-dexy

george@dexy.org

nVidia Corporation G71 [Quadro FX 1500] (rev a1)

Yann Sionneau

Yann Sionneau

yann-sionneau

yann@minet.net

ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]

ninjatrainedguardsheep

David Potter

ninjatrainedguardsheep

theoriginalbigbaddave@googlemail.com

nVidia GeForce 8500 GT (512mb)

oddsam91

Sam Wright

oddsam91

oddsam91@gmail.com

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670

prodigiouspenguin

Daniel Eads

Prodigious Penguin

prodigiouspenguin@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce 8600 GT

cnsidero

Chris Sideroff

cnsidero

cnsidero@gmail.com

ATI Technologies Inc RV770 [Radeon HD 4870] x 2 (CrossFireX)

vperetokin

Vadim Peretokin

vperetokin

vperetokin@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce 8600m GT (512mb)

stlouisubntu

Robert Bennett

stlubuntu

jlrbennett@sbcglobal.net.ns

ATI Radeon HD 3200 (Integrated)

ramon.rocha

Ramon Rocha

ramon.rocha

ramon.arturo.rocha@gmail.com

NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS

fido

Federico Vera

fedevera

dktcoding@gmail.com

NVIDIA GeForce 6200 (512MB)

ghaith

Ghaith Hachem

ghaith

ghaith@tristmoon.com

ATI Radeon Mobile HD 4650 (1024MB)

mattias

Mattias Johnsson

m.t.johnsson@gmail.com

m.t.johnsson@gmail.com

ATI Radeon HD 5770 (1024MB)

vishalrao

Vishal Rao VishalRao

vishalrao

vishalrao@gmail.com

NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512 MB

ricsi-pontaz

Richard Somlói

ricsipontaz

ricsipontaz@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce GTS 250 (512 MB)

Coucouf

Aurélien Couderc

coucouf

zecoucou@free.fr

ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 4770 [RV740]

puurokauha

Jussi-Petteri Penttilä

puurokauha

puurokattila@gmail.com

AMD/ATI Radeon HD4200

Dennis Beekman

Dennis Beekman

Dennis Beekman

d.c.beekman@gmail.com

Club 3D Radeon 4650 (1GB)

benste

Benedict Stein

benste

Benedict.Stein+ubuntu@gmail.com

Vaio: Geforce 7600 go (128 MB)

elmo23x

Daniel Rubio Bonilla

elmo23x

danielrubiob@gmail.com

ATI Radeon HD 5770 (1024MB)

ziroday

Nick HS

nickhs

nickhs@ubuntu.com

nVidia Corporation GT200 [GeForce GTX 280] (rev a1)

InduS

Rajeev Nair

https://launchpad.net/~rajeev/

rajeev1204@gmail.com

ATI/AMD RADEON 4850 512 MB

raifals

raifals

https://launchpad.net/~raifals

raifals@gmail.com

GeForce 9100M G 256MB

archagel

Michael G.

https://launchpad.net/~archagel

archagel@gmail.com

AMD Radeon 5870

K-9

Ilya K.

https://launchpad.net/~k-9

k0009000@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce 9800 GT

murrayy

Julian Held

julian-held

julian.held@gmail.com

nVidia GeForce 9800 GT

Aldo Nogueira

Aldo Nogueira

aldo-nogueira

aldo.nogueira@gmail.com

ATI Radeon HD 4770 512Mb

LibertyZero

Moritz Molch

LibertyZero

liberty.zero@gmail.com

AMD/ATI Radeon HD4890

FAQ

Can I install [K,X]ubuntu instead?

For the moment we are only interested in Ubuntu results, sorry.


Footnotes:

  1. If you really, really want to test all your systems, you will need to create one account per system to avoid messing up the data (1)