Warning /!\ This programme has been terminated as of October 2011.

BugSquad Mentorship Program

The Bug Squad's mentorship program has been created for people that would like to get involved in bug triaging, but don't know how to. If you apply for mentorship, a mentor will be assigned to you to guide your first steps in the wonderful world of working with bugs.

What is 'triaging'?

In a hospital, triage happens the instant a patient arrives: his or her vital signs are checked, his or her status assessed, and (s)he gets sorted in amongst all the other patients waiting for treatment.

Bug triage is a lot like that as we assess bugs to determine whether or not they have enough information to be worked on, and assign a priority to them as soon as possible. Though without any risk of a death, fortunately.

The process itself is thoroughly explained at Bugs/HowToTriage. Make sure you read that wiki page well before starting to work on bugs!

How To Request a Mentor

If you're new to the BugSquad and want to request a mentor you need to:

  1. Sign the Ubuntu Code of Conduct. (Requirement)

  2. Set up your Ubuntu Wiki-page, and add the following information to it:
    • A brief introduction of yourself;
    • Your area of interest (e.g.: audio, kernel, desktop, networking, etc), or none if you're still unsure
    • Your availability time in UTC . [also mention your timezone]

  3. Add your IRC-nickname, your Ubuntu Wiki-page and your timezone to your Launchpad profile.
  4. As a recommendation you might want to read the HowToTriage, your mentor will help you if you have any doubts regarding the processes there.

  5. Finally, request membership on the bugsquad-mentorship group on Launchpad

The mentorship admins will review your request and assign you to a suitable mentor, who will contact you shortly after the assignment.

Note: After applying to the team, if you are not assigned a mentor within a week, its because there are no mentors currently available in your preferred time slot. So kindly wait until a mentor in your time slot is free. The team membership will be approved only when a student can be assigned a mentor. In the mean time, you can ask questions anytime on #ubuntu-bugs irc channel.

List of students waiting for a mentor

How To Become a Mentor

All members of the Ubuntu Bug Control team can be mentors; the only requirement is that they need to know how the community operates and be familiar with the resources. That is more important than being very experienced in the area your students are going to work.

The responsibilities of the mentors are

If you want to become a mentor, please send an email to <> with the subject: I Want to Become a Mentor - <<Your Name>> and include:

  • Your expertise, e.g. desktop, kernel,, Mozilla, KDE, GNOME;
  • Your Launchpad username;
  • The times you're available, in UTC.

Student assignment

The admins of the mentorship program will answer you shortly and — if you're accepted — add you to the list of available mentors and to the bugsquad-mentorship team on Launchpad.

When you've been accepted as a mentor the admins will assign a student to you. You'll be warned and asked to make the first contact with your new student. You could use the stock mail at BugSquad/Mentors/Stock for this, that way you are sure you provide the necessary information.

It's up to you how you mentor the students, but generally the goal is to make the students ready for Ubuntu Bug Control membership.

Also , see: List of students waiting for a mentor

Current mentors

This is the list of the current Bug Squad mentors and their students. This table is looked after by the mentorship admins, but if you see any error in the information listed here, feel free to correct it. However, please do not add new mentors to this list on your own initiative.

Times Available


IRC Nickname

Packages - Area of Speciality


03:00 - 06:00 UTC (9PM - 12AM CT)

Draycen DeCator



Tim (RedSingularity)

03:00 - 06:00 UTC (9PM - 12AM CT)

Drew Cross



stlsaint (stlsaint) , Rajat Khanduja (rajatkhanduja)

07:00 - 16:00 UTC (0900 - 1800 CET)

Jean-Baptiste Lallement


Regression bugs and Stable Release Update testing, Upgrade and installation issues (apt, dpkg, update-manager,...)

Alexander Gnodtke (algnod)

09:00 - 21:00 UTC

Markus Korn


Desktop Bugs/GNOME

Sulumar (Sulumar)

15:00 - 17:00 UTC

Omer Akram


gwibber, empathy, GNOME

Abhijit Navale (abhi_nav)

11:00 - 20:00 UTC

Pedro Villavicencio


Desktop Bugs/GNOME

12:00 - 21:00 UTC (8AM-5PM ET) evenings and weekends as I am online

Ralph Janke



genux (genux)

13:00 - 05:00 UTC, but varies wildly

Marc Randolph


Mythbuntu/MythTV, lirc

Dr. Kenobi (DrKenobi) , chilicuil (chilicuil)

13:00 - 22:00 UTC

Victor Vargas


Gwibber, Rhythmbox, Gnome

13:00 - 23:00 UTC (0900 - 1900 EST)

Jeremy Foshee


Kernel Bugs


13:00 - 00:00 UTC

C de-Avillez


Evolution, coreutils, generic help

Kangarooo (Kangarooo) , ojap (ojap)

14:30 - 18:30 UTC



GNOME, apport hook writing

flipefr , Santhosh (Gigacore)

15:00 - 19.00 UTC (17:00-21:00 CET/CEST)

Sense Hofstede



KE1HA , rohit (drcooper)

UTC 15:30 - 1800 and this limit extends generally on weekends

Gursimran singh Mohar


Touchpad bugs

Ahmed Shams (ashams), Roopesh (stanley_robertso)

16:00 - 23:00 UTC (9am-4pm PDT), frequently 04:00-07:00 UTC

Steve Beattie


Regression bugs and SRU testing, apport hooks

Valentin Tunev

17:00-18:00 UTC and 21:00-22:00 UTC, may vary

Mohamed Amine IL Idrissi


Desktop applications

Sam (samwho) , cotillion (cotillion-bn)

18:00 - 03:00 UTC (3PM to 11PM ET)

Brian Curtis


empathy, telepathy*

David Ly-Gagnon (davely) , Gordon (cagordon)

23:00 - 08:00 UTC (but will vary)

Mitch Towner


Ubuntu One, Gnome Desktop Apps, SRU Testing

George Patterson (gorilla)

Andrés Mujica


Kernel Bugs, xserver-xorg-video-intel, cheese

Dimitrios Symeonidis



Daniel T Chen


audio (kernelspace & userspace)

Jonathan Jesse


Documentation, Kubuntu Docs, Ubuntu Docs

currently unavailable

Geir Ove Myhr



currently unavailable

Greg Grossmeier


Gwibber, Tomboy, Tasque, GNOME

Martin Pokorny (flyin) , Patrick Wiltrout (Vork)

currently unavailable

Maco Morgan



Brian Murray


writing apport-hooks, update-manager, whatever

Chris Coulson


Desktop Bugs/GNOME + tracker

Micah Gersten


Mozilla Apps (Firefox, Thunderbird, Seamonkey...)

Charlie Kravetz


xfce, gnumeric

BugSquad/Mentors (last edited 2011-11-30 15:11:37 by hggdh2)